Karjalan piirakkoja and Old fashioned rollerskating

Since my hostmum J always talks always and with everyone, she did also during a Jewish dinner party find out that a man she knows did his master degree in Helsinki, Finland. They talked about it and he gave an impression of that he loves everything with Finland and that he knows how to talk Finnish. Apparently he said he had none to keep it up with. Of course J starts telling him that she has an au-pair from Sweden who's Finnish and that his welcome over to dinner to chat with me. Okey I don't mind talking to a proffesional eye-doctor...anyways J asks me if there is any Finnish dish we could make/cook/bake and I started to think. The first thing which plopped up in my head was Kareelean pirogue (a Finnish/Russian pastry with rice pudding as a filling and you eat in with egg butter on top) and I started to look up some recipes for it. Then I had all the ingredients I got excited and decided to make it. That was soo much fun and got them exactly how I wanted - I'm soo proud of myself. Look at the picture below.

 
 
Also Emma came by while I was making them and we decided to order som Indian food for pick-up. As sweet as Emma is she went and picked it up while I was working on the pirouges. (Just a little input. S, the oldest girl has her springbreak this week so I drove her to her swimming practice in between and filled the car with gas, the gas price is now approximately 1 dollar/litre...expensive here - cheap home)

The same night I was up to an exciting au-pair meeting. Old fashioned rollerskating. First when we got the e-mail about it I was like. What - can you really do it? Then, that must be a piece of cake. Big skates with four wheels on each. Was it easy? No way. I felt like Bambi on slippery ice. It was so much fun though and a good exercise since I was cramping all of my leg and my ass. Feel like the au-pair meetings are getting more enjoyable and more people are attending. I really like my group now and I'm already looking forward for the next two meetings. The April one is by my wishes. Thai food at Bangkok Café just talking (once in a while) and the May one is an "all au-pair families" picnic :-)

     


Afterwards Tammy and I went to In-n'-out burger where I ate my very first hamburger in US (first one in almost one year) and my first milkshake in about two years. Not to forget, I got such a cute Lindt chocolate Easter bunny from Emma. So delicious - gold worth :-) I'm looking so much forward to Tijuana and Gand canyon - of course also Hawaii!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0